Tips to START Your Diet

Substitute favorite foods
  • Make a list of your child's favorite foods (even if your child has a very limited diet).
    • Check off all the foods that contain gluten and/or casein.

  • Ignore foods like:
    • Fresh fruits and vegetables
    • Meat
    • Poultry
    • Fish
These are safe as long as you don't prepare them in any dairy products or any products derived from grains (wheat, rye, barley, oats, spelt etc.).

The foods that you checked off that include gluten or casein need to be changed. To learn how to make gluten and casein-free versions of these foods, and where to buy ready-made versions CLICK HERE.

Let everyone know
  • It is essential that everyone who is in a position to give your child food knows that he or she is on a special diet and can only have food provided by you.
    • Ex: teachers, bus drivers, school aides, therapists, grandparents, siblings, friends, relatives etc.

Learn the sources of gluten
  • Gluten is hidden in many products and ingredients and you may not immediately recognize it by reading the label.

Where can I find gluten and casein-free foods?
  • The answer is: Health food stores, mail-order sources and online--But one of the richest sources with a great variety and a source that most people are unaware of is the food found during the Jewish holiday of Passover. Why? Because of the ease with which you can determine that a food is gluten and casein-free.
    • Passover is a holiday where Jewish people are not allowed to eat any food that contains grains, with one exception: Matzo. So, if you check the ingredients list and it does not say matzo or it's by-products then you know it is gluten-free.
    • Finding casein-free foods can be simple too. If you check some of your favorite foods, you may find that there is a symbol that indicates if a food is dairy-free (and thereby casein-free). This is because Jewish people who observe the kosher dietary laws are not permitted to eat dairy and meat products together at any time.
  • Foods you may find availabe during Passover include:
      • Ice Cream
      • Ice Cream Cones
      • Sprinkles
      • Chicken Nuggets
      • Croutons
      • Canned Soups
      • Chocolate Bars and other candies
      • Cookies and Cookie Mixes
      • Spices
      • Jams
      • Tuna
      • Sugar
      • Ready-to-eat Frozen Dinners
To learn more about Passover Foods CLICK HERE